24 Fake universities in India-Declared UGC


24 Fake universities in India-Declared UGC : University Grants Commission (UGC) secretary, Prof. Rajnish Jain released a public notice on fake universities in India. As per the notice 24 self-styled, unrecognized institutions are functioning.

So, 24 institutions working on contrary to UGC Act are declared as fake universities. And these universities are not empowered to confer any degree.

State wise Fake Universities in India -Majority from U.P :

Out of these 24 fake universities, 8 universities from Uttarpradesh , 7 universities from Delhi. 2 from Odisha and 2 from west Bengal.

Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry, Maharashtra and Andhra Pradesh have 1 fake university from each state.

What UGC Act says

According to UGC Act,1956 under section 22(1) that a degree can be awarded only by a university.

  • Especially empowered by an Act of parliament. Or
  • An institution deemed to be university under section 3 of UGC Act. Or
  • Established universities under a central, state/provincial Act.

Further, as per section 23 of the UGC Act any institution established against to the above stated rules is not called as university.

24 Fake Universities in India (UGC Declared)

Uttarpradesh (UP)

  • Mathura (Kosikalam)- Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya
  • Pratapgarh- Maharana Pratap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya
  • Noida (Makanpur)- Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad
  • Varanasi- Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya
  • Allahabad – Mahila Gram Vishwavidyalaya
  • Allahabad (Prayag) – Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith
  • Kanpur – National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy
  • Aligar (Achaltal) – Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University)


  • ADR-Centric-Centric Juridical University
  • Indian Institute of Science and Engineering
  • Viswakarma Open University for Self-Employment Delhi
  • Delhi – United Nations University
  • Delhi – Vocational University
  • Daryaganj – Commercial university Ltd
  • Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya


  • North Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology
  • Nababharat Shiksha Parishad, ( Anupoorna Bhawan)

West Bengal

  • Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research
  • Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine


  • Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society

Also Read : Army Public School Teacher Recruitment 2020


  • St. John’s University (Kishanattam)


  • Sri Bodhi Academy of Higher Education


  • Nagpur-“Raja Raja Arabic University

Andhra Pradesh

  • Guntur – Christ New Testament Deemed University

Further, UGC directed chief secretaries and concerned officers of the state to take necessary action against the fake Universities.

Exit mobile version